



MINUTES OF SPECIAL MEETING OF ROSCOMMON COUNTY COUNCIL HELD IN THE COUNCIL CHAMBER, ON WEDNESDAY, 5TH SEPTEMBER, 2018 AT 2.30PM.

PRESENT: Councillor Ivan Connaughton PRESIDED

MEMBERS: Cllr V. Byrne, Cllr L. Callaghan, Cllr D. Connolly, Cllr M. Creaton, Cllr J. Cummins,

Cllr L. Fallon, Cllr P. Fitzmaurice, Cllr P. Kilduff, Cllr O. Leyden, Cllr M. Mulligan,

Cllr J. Murphy, Cllr J. Naughten and Cllr T. Ward.

OFFICIALS: Eugene Cummins, Chief Executive

Patricia Bohan, Meetings Administrator Michelle Carney, Assistant Staff Officer

Apologies: Cllr N. Dineen, Cllr R. Doherty, Cllr J. Keogh and Cllr K. Shanagher.

1.18 PRESENTATION BY CANDIDATES SEEKING A NOMINATION FOR THE PRESIDENTIAL ELECTION - S16 PRESIDENTIAL ELECTIONS ACT 1993

The Cathaoirleach, Cllr. Ivan Connaughton welcomed the Members and thanked them for their attendance at this Special Plenary Meeting of Roscommon County Council. The meeting is convened to afford prospective Presidential Candidates the opportunity to make a presentation, as under Section 16 of the Presidential Elections Act 1993, Councils may by Resolution, resolve to nominate one candidate.

The Cathaoirleach informed the meeting that it is proposed to have another Special Plenary Meeting on Monday, 10th September, 2018 at 9.00 am to ratify the decision on a nomination for the Presidential Election by Roscommon County Council.

On the **PROPOSAL** of Councillor Dominic Connolly **SECONDED** by Councillor Michael Creaton

It was **AGREED** that at this Special Plenary Meeting, it is determined that the use of any means of recording or relaying the proceedings at a later stage by the media to take photographs and videos is allowed in the Chamber.

Cathaoirleach Ivan Connaughton welcomed eight prospective candidates seeking the nomination of Roscommon County Council. Mr. Peter Casey sent his apologies to the meeting.

In the following order the candidates made their presentations to the Members of Roscommon County Council and were afforded the opportunity to speak for ten minutes each.

- Ms. Marie Goretti Moylan
- Mr. Patrick Feeney
- Senator Joan Freeman
- Ms. Gemma O'Doherty
- Mr. John Groarke
- Mr. Kevin Sharkey

- Mr. Sean Gallagher
- Ms. Sarah Louise Mulligan

The Members of Roscommon County Council were afforded the opportunity to ask questions of the candidates after each presentation.

The Cathaoirleach thanked all of the candidates for meeting with Roscommon County Council and for their excellent presentations and he wished them the best of luck in seeking a nomination.

Cllr. Connaughton then advised that the Meetings Administrator would accept nominations from the Members until Thursday, 6th September, 2018 at 11.00 am for consideration at a Special Meeting to take place on Monday 10th September at 9.00am.

This concluded the business of the Special Meeting.

The foregoing Minutes are Confirmed and Signed:

	Herricio Behon
	Meetings Administrator
Cathaoirleach	
	Countersigned